call into radio

Posted: December 21, 2012 in mental health, SMI

i called the local a.m. talk radio show this morning to weigh in on mental health. i’m so proud of myself!
the talk was all about the sandy hook shooting one week ago today. the host characterized ‘those people’ (the shooter) as “demon monsters” who are committing these crimes. So I thought I’d weigh in and tell him MY perspective as an SMI consumer. I believe the government here in the United States is failing us. In my state of Arizona you can ONLY get full services if you are poor and SMI. I don’t make tons of money, but I’m actually 24 dollars over the cut to get the state paid health insurance. So the only thing that the state payor does for me, mental health wise, is pay for my medication. They see me about every 3 months and adjust my meds. thats IT! If I call it takes about 3 days to get a call back. they are awful. I basically wanted to let the radio show host know that if the state and U.S. would give proper mental health services these problems would be greatly reduced I believe. period. I didn’t go ‘live’ on the show because wanted to remain anonymous-not wanting to ‘come out’ completely just yet to anyone who is listening locally. I am waiting to hear if they will air my information. The hosts’ sidekick took my information and said he’d pass it on. Hopefully they air this. Maybe the government will start listing TO THE CONSUMERS!

what are your thoughts about this?

Comments
  1. hey, im glad to be reading your blog and seeing how different things are from my country and yours. i take alot for granted that we get free healthcare and dont need to worry about insurances etc. i think we have the best healthcare system in the world possibly. Even england have to pay for prescriptions where scotland we dont. EVERYTHING is free. i cant even begin to imagine how much in debt id be if i had to pay for my care. look forward to reading more on your blog. ~kerry

  2. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) says:

    I’m angry. So angry that people don’t get the help that they need. I can only wish you the very best and hope and pray that you get the help that you much deserve soon.

Leave a Reply

