once again.

Posted: January 6, 2013 in depression, hospitalization, mental health, skills class-DBT, social security

I wanted to thank all my readers for helping me into the hospital over New Year’s.

Here in the USA we can put ourselves inpatient without a doctor’s note or request.

They kind of trick you, saying if you voluntarily go in, you can leave at any time. Not really.  Once you are in you are in.  If you go AMA (against medical advice) then your insurance might not pay for the complete visit.

Either way, I made my way into the hospital around 4 p.m. on Dec 28th.  The 29th was my 41st birthday, and I was inpatient.  Of course New Year’s came soon afterwards and I was still in there for New Year’s Eve.  I came home on New Year’s Day, only by my request really.  The doctor told me I could not leave but since I had my suicide prevention class scheduled for that Wednesday (after New Years) they let me go.

Life has been kind of rocky still since I’ve been out. 

The hard thing about coming out is that life resumes and continues to happen. The stresses of the household are still there when you get home.  I’ve applied for social security disability (insurance and medical) and that whole process usually takes about two years!  I’m one year in so far and been denied once. I since got a lawyer who is helping me with this process.  In the meantime, I am allowed to make under $1,000 dollars a month and still be able to qualify.

Life is just hard. period.

In the hospital the psych doc put me on Seroquel and Lamictal.  This is in addition to my already taken Lexapro and they discontinued the Effexor.  I am no longer having the cutting and self-harm thoughts, thank God. That was awful. Racing thoughts of self-harm is no fun. as you know.

I hope everyone had a good holiday.  As for me, I am glad it is over and family has since left and my stress has gotten a bit better.

xoxo

Comments
  1. Carol Ross says:

    I’m glad you went into hospital when you needed to and that your stress is a little better now .. one day at a time. Have you tried mindful writing when you are feeling stressed? For example write for a few minutes in detail about a beautiful picture, object or view from your window.

    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment in my blog in December. I’ve had a few weeks break from blogging so sorry if I didn’t reply to your comment yet.

Leave a Reply

