Melanoma

Posted: June 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

Realized after chatting with a new friend tonight that I never wrote my post about my melanoma-skin cancer issue.

I had this ‘heart shaped’ mole the size of a large pencil eraser on my face for about 4 years. 2 years ago I went to a dermatologist to get it looked at. He said no worried, no cancer, did nothing.  Well it got bigger and started changing it’s look.  So I went in March to another dermatologist and immediately that doc said “definitely we will take that off today and biopsy it”. Well he did. They sent it off for biopsy. And 3 days later I got the call that I had cancer. 😦

Well I ended up going in for surgery May 7&8 (last month) to remove the WHOLE cancer from my face.  It’s on my cheek area.  So needless to say, long story short, cancer is gone. and I have a huge LONG scar from my temple down to my jawline. Scar massage starts the end of this week to get rid of 3 layers of stitches underneath the skin. Doc says this will hurt but is necessary.

I did not realize how bad my melanoma was. Until I see the scar. And get upset. Bad. I was left out of the house on the hot hot days of summer. Mom says ‘don’t come in til it’s dark’ So we’d sit outside all day. No sunscreen.  The doc looks at you like I’m a fake-baker, tanner, etc. Nope. Not this girl. Just neglected.

So that’s my melanoma story. WEAR your SUNSCREEN!  Protect yourself.  One more thing to add to my past crap. LOL.

Leave a Reply

